Doctrine of Christ

Introduction to
The Doctrine of Baptism

By: Eldon McNabb

In this third principle of the doctrine of Christ, some of the baptisms are more obvious than others, but, with taking heed unto the doctrine, we can soon discern all seven of them.

Some are levels of personal spiritual progress, others are more steps of faith: that is, seeing the revelation of it in the scriptures and walking in that light. Just as these baptisms are different in nature, so are they ministered and received in various manners: such as Water baptism by immersion, Matt. 3:15; Sanctification (baptism of the blood) by sprinkling, Heb. 10:22; and the Holy Ghost baptism by pouring, Joel 2:28.

The Old Testament foreshadows these Grace Age experiences in "divers washings" and "sprinkling," which were "imposed on them until the time of reformation." Heb. 9:10. (See Heb. 10:1) This is especially so in the case of the cleansing of the leper. In Lev. 14:2-7, He said, "This shall be the law of the leper in the day of his cleansing." The priest shall "command to take for him that is to be cleansed two birds: And the priest shall command that one of the birds be killed: And he shall sprinkle (the blood) upon him that is to be cleansed from the leprosy seven times."

In the case of Naaman, a Gentile, The Lord used a different figure, but revealed the same principle. Elisha sent instructions to Naaman by his servant: "Go and wash in Jordan seven times, and thy flesh shall come again to thee, and thou shalt be clean. Then went he down, and dipped himself seven times in Jordan, according to the saying of the man of God: and his flesh came again like unto the flesh of a little child, and he was clean." 2 Kings 5:10-14. Even so, if we are to be fully cleansed from our spiritual leprosy, and be made a sacrifice acceptable to God (Rom. 15:16), we also must experience, not one, two, or three, but seven baptisms.

Here we shall deal with them in the most likely sequence in which the devotee will experience them. They are: 1) Water Baptism, 2) Baptism Into Jesus Christ, 3) The Baptism With The Holy Ghost and Fire, 4) The Baptism of Suffering, 5) Baptism Into The Body, 6) Baptism Unto The Man of God, 7) The Baptism of Burning.

Back to The People of Truth

Back to Doctrine
Table of Contents